Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Inde Express
7 février 2008

Write a novel in 15 minutes (the end)

41TTvDEsM_2BL

Q : Do you  still manage to respect the basic principle of the book, that is, write every day ?

A : I am a lazy writer. There are a lot of things I like to do : work with textiles or colours, create things  I am also the Editor of a magazine and I teach. Most of the time, writing is difficult. I would often put other things ahead of it either  family stuff or work for pay. Now I really have to be disciplined and think about the time I want to spend on my novel. And, I just do it and try to put everything else out of my mind as much as possible. My routine changes all the time. First, I used to go to cafés and try and work there but these places were too noisy. Now, I go to the library and spend a couple hours writing. Instead of thinking, I should do something else with my time, I focus on writing. I avoid thinking about whether I will sell my book or not. My battle is the same one as other writers’. I wrote a couple of novels before Pen on Fire and I could not sell them. I don’t think it was a waste of time.

Q : Tell me about your next writing project « Starletta’s kitchen » ?

A : It is a novel. I found the title a few years ago. It will be about a food writer. It has been in the work for three years. I came out of freewriting* moments I enjoyed the year Pen on Fire was published in 2004.  I am a great believer in freewriting. I acquired something like 300 pages and thought it would be a draft for a novel. Of that freewriting, I got the idea of the novel. I have been developing the story for the last two years.

Q : How important is the blog Pen on Fire in your life as a writer ? Is it part of your principle : write every day or is it a separate project.

A : I started my blog because my editor wanted me to. In the USA, it is important for a writer to have a website. After Pen on Fire was out, I asked my editor if I should revamp mine. She suggested I started a blog. You just have to change the content and get to keep the site. The blog became part of my life as a writer. I try not to spend too much time on it. I do not want it to take me away from my novel. It helps me stay connected with people who read my book, my friends, people struggling with writing. My entries are short. I start conversations or post tidbits and important information.  When I go to a blog, I do not enjoy spending more than 10 minutes reading it. I want to do that quickly. That’s exactlywhat I wanted for my blog.

Q : Does teaching creative writing help you as a writer ?

A : It helps me keep me honest. I cannot teach something if I am not doing it. It is like if I am getting on my students for not writing, I’d better be writing. Otherwise, I am  hypocrite. I feel like I have to be an example.

*Freewriting is a popular technique used by writers to practice writing in general, or to collect their initial thoughts and ideas on a writing topic. It is often used as a preliminary to more formal writing.

Don't forget to visit Barbara's blog:

http://penonfire.blogspot.com/

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Publicité